• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Sets and reps confusion

T

turbodragon

Ok, so I've been training on and off for about 4-5 years now and onyl recently decided to take it more seriously. But something just occured to me with regards to reps and sets.

Background info:

Take for example the flat bench press I would do:

Set 1 (warmup set): 30kg x 12 reps
Set 2: 50kg x 10 reps
Set 3: 60kg x 8 reps
Set 4 (very close to failure set): 70kg x 6 reps

If I had a spotter, I would try for 80kg x 6 reps (or 8 reps of 70kg)

But I have begun to notice poeple who would do 3 or 4 sets (like me), except instead of increasing weights with each set, instead they begin with their normal warmup weight and then ramp it up to 60kg (for example) and do the 60kg for the remaining sets, whilst maintaining 8-10 reps for each of those sets. In other words:

Set 1: 30kg x 12 reps
Set 2: 60kg x 8 reps
Set 3: 60kg x 8 reps
Set 4: 60kg x 8 reps
Now my question is, are both methods acceptable? Or is one of us going about it the wrong way?

Cheers.

in the scheme of things, for example in 5 years time....both methods are pretty equal.