• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Beginner here: looking for a beginner squat routine

S

stupid

I'm new to lifting weights and am looking for a squat routine that includes things like how many reps and sets I should do.

At the moment I'm doing:

Set 1 - light weight 10-12 reps to warm up
Set 2 - 10-12 reps easy but not that easy medium sort of weight
Set 3 - 10-12 reps of as heavy I can lift in that rep range
Set 4 - 4-6 reps of as heavy as I can lift in that rep range

I really have no idea. Should I include deadlifts in the same workout as squats or is that too much? Can I lift squats everyday or should I only lift every second or third day??? High reps, low reps, lots of sets not many sets.

I am guessing if I can't keep close to 95% good form I should lower the weight? Lots of bigger people at the gym don't so I have no idea.

Any tips for beginners would be good.

Thanks in advance.

Pick a rep range, stick to it and tried to add a kilo or 2 each workout. What else are you doing?

Do strong lifts or Starting strength for 3months.... Then you'll be able to answer your question yourself..